Hyperionides

By HaxSyn

Fettercairn Arch

I took the train North to Laurencekirk today where I met up with my brother-in-laws brother for a small "surprise" party for sister's 25th Wedding Anniversary. We stopped by Fettercairn so he could check into his hotel which is where I took this photo of Fettercairn Arc, which is a "Category B Listed Romanesque arch in the centre of Fettercairn village. It was built as a memorial to the Prince Consort and to commemorate the visit of Victoria and Albert in September 1861. It was designed by John Milne (of St Andrews) between 1864-5 and consists of two buttressed octagonal towers with short gabletted spirelets and wrought-iron finials. The arch is finished with a crenellated parapet with central curvilinear gablet feature."

We then went over for to my sister's house where we had had a small family gathering with drinks and eats. 

Extra photos include are the cake my niece made for the party and a shot from the Forth Rail Bridge (looking East) on my way journey north.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.