CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A kestrel at Pengirt Cove, near Polzeath

I went to the old lead mines above Pengirt Cove three times today.  My knee felt a little better so I could drive around the head of the valley to get on to the National Trust land which spreads for several miles around the coast from Polzeath to the old fishing village of Port Quinn, close to the now more famous Port Isaac.

Helena came with me as she had some time before catching the bus for her jaunt to Tintagel, and on the way we stopped at the local honey shop, which was a bit disappointing.  After she’d caught the bus I headed back to the cliff tops as I hoped to film some birds from the high vantage point.  We’d seen a kestrel this morning quite close by, but I had a fantasy that I would see a Peregrine Falcon, which is rumoured to live at this headland.

I couldn’t walk very far so after parking I walked fifty yards and stood at a junction of the coastal paths high over Pengirt Cove.  I have added an “Extra Photo’ of the view towards the island, called The Moults, with Pentire Point out of shot to the left of the picture.

While I stood there the kestrel returned many times sweeping in long arcs along the cliffs at various heights, before hovering in the up draughts for long periods.  I didn’t see what it caught but it did alight on the cliffs several times as well as on to a couple of balls of hay in the field I blipped a couple of days ago.  I have lots of kestrel images, but like this one best.

In the evening we returned yet again to the same spot to catch the last of the sunset and then the emergence of the bats which Helena had discovered on her Bat Walk a couple of night ago.  In the gloom we stood by the coast path stone wall and awaited the bats’ emergence from the old lead mines under our feet.  I set my camera on the off chance I might catch a picture, and lo and behold It worked.  Have a look at the ‘Extra photos’, as long as it doesn’t upset you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.