Comfort

Today has been a funny one.  My grandmother died yesterday evening (I played with various euphemisms there but none of them felt right). 

Today has been about waiting more than anything else.  Waiting to know when her service will be, waiting to make travel arrangements, waiting to know how next week is going to pan out. 

It's been about that odd feeling that something isn't right, but not being able to do anything about it.

I was supposed to go to Greymouth tomorrow for a Monday meeting.  Back home Monday night, work Tuesday was to be followed by a 4.30 to 7.00 training session then a Board meeting from 7.00.  Wednesday I was to fly to Wellington for a three day conference.

The first half of the week won't be happening for me as planned - though I'm still hopeful of making it to the conference on Wednesday - and so I've spent today tying up loose ends, finishing off some urgent work (that I had planned to do tomorrow and Tuesday) and rearranging meetings and workload. 

Jasper seems to know that something's going on, so she's been looking for reassurance all day.  We went outside to throw a ball around but she didn't really want to do anything more than sit on my foot and look up at me.  So we gave it a miss and had a cuddle instead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.