The little flower girl

What an amazing day!
I woke up at 10, midnight UK time feeling awful, had breakfast, took some pills and went back to bed for an hour, Anton called at 11.30 to say that these lovely people Ada and Igor who we met at the club last night had kept their word and were here to take us to the Waterfalls, off we went, on the way they pulled over and bought me this bunch of wild lillies from this sweet little girl.
Ada and Igor bought champagne for the journey ;-)
They also bought crab, prawns and this amazing prawn like creature local to here for us to snack on before the walk, delicious!
The journey was about 90 mins, we arrived at Ada's friend's house where we were given wellies and coats and taken off by 2 brothers into the forest in their offroad vehicle, sprayed with tic and mosquito repellent, all very exciting, they had to use a winch to get the vehicle up an especially uneven slippery part, then we trekked through the forest with bamboo walking sticks to see a waterfall that has 12 falls in all, we saw the first 4, it was quite a hike and pretty hard going but well worth the effort! Anton and Ada here
Back at the house they had baked a fish on the barbecue that they had caught the day before, made a traditional fish soup which we ate with vodka and also roasted some wild boar that one of the hunters had shot the week before!
It was all wonderful!
They were such friendly people and the Grandpa was such a character, hr had prepared lard which I'm afraid I couldn't bring myself to try but luckily I wasn't the only one, they also had honeysuckle berries growing which I ate, really nice, sweet and slightly bitter!
I slept on the way back and then Anton went home to change and we went out to a lovely cafe owned by Olga a friend of Sacha who booked me, she was really moved by my singing and had invited us over, I am very tired but so glad we made the effort, we were lavished with fine wine, cheeses, pea soup, pork with pickles and red berry jus, cod with warm cucumber salad and cream sauce and berry sorbet with elderflower liqueur!
Olga is a very warm person and her restaurant is lovely.
I'm overwhelmed by the kindness of the people I've met here, they have bent over backwards to make me feel welcome, it's very touching.
Thank you Vladivostock

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.