Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Rounding the mark

One sure fire way of finding a cluster of boats in a yacht race is to get close to one of the marks as the yachts come together to go round. I'm glad I chose to sail yesterday and take the rib today as it took a long time for the wind to kick in and, when it did, it didn't last.

The rib driver was a youngster with little experience. A driver has to have eyes in the back of his head. I can't count the number of times we had to tap him on the shoulder to point out a yacht bearing down on us when he was distracted. You can't be distracted doing this stuff. 

The third one I put up is Kelpie, a yacht I last photographed in last year's Pendennis Cup. 

It's been a full-on two days in Palma and I almost missed my flight as I was still working to British time. Good to be back though, now lots of processing and writing ahead, then packing again for our Scottish fishing week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.