Our Life in pictures

By SunChaser

From small acorns......

A few years ago we looked after our friends' son for the weekend while they were house hunting. We had a lovely time and during one walk together Sonny picked up some acorns which came home in the car with us. At a later date when I was cleaning out the car I threw the acorns out into the garden. A while later a noticed a tiny little oak tree growing up through the gravel. I dug it up and put it in a pot. It has survived several autumns and winters and while it is not a mighty oak yet it is a healthy specimen. I doubt whether I would have succeeded if I had TRIED to grow an oak tree from the acorn. Anyway the miniature tree reminds me of our friends who moved from our area and it has been christened the 'Sonny Oak'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.