Lightening the Load

What a gorgeous day it was; out first thing to pick up the papers and some rasps and strawberries. Then - the main event! The laydeees race - traditionally the race with some social bash at the end. I've never entered before, never having been able to have a laydeees hand on the tiller. But this year Jimmie and I secured the services of one! So, off we set; it was pretty breezy actually, so we reefed in. And a lengthy bloody sail; round Wardie Bay, out to the Pallas Rock buoy (aye!) and then keeping Gunnet Ledge to port (aye, again!) back to Granton. And it got a bit overcast and choppy. This may be where we technically came a bit unstuck - the laydee on the helm suddenly felt the need to take a break and inspect the stern of the boat more closely. And shout loudly. I'm not sure the rule book permits that.

Right, the evening is looking very fine. My old matey Johnny, who I've kent since school days is up in town. The Barony Bar awaits. Two days running. I hope I don't get a habit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.