Three in One

Early train into London this morning to meet up with a Street Photography walk organised through the Royal Photographic Society. There were twelve of us in total and, amazingly, we almost stayed together (or at least not too far apart) for the duration.  The organiser gave us the route and set a couple of stops for re-grouping, including one right at the end to share experiences so we could wander as and where we pleased.

As a 'country bumpkin' I had my eyes opened to a different area of London as we started in Hackney, moving through to Shoreditch.  I have been to London many times but not to these places.  We came across a lot of Street Art (or Artistic Graffiti) much of which was incredible.  In Holywell Lane a huge area was being prepared for a mural by a Polish artist and due to be finished in a day or two but already there are plans for this to be replaced after only a week or so.  This space changes frequently so is worth keeping an eye on.

There were some of the Banksy murals protected now by perspex sheets and a couple of the Stik pieces - all well known and interesting.

My blip I found in a back street.  It's very clever with three faces sharing eyes and was difficult to photograph as there were several cars parked right in front of it.  I've included the mural's reflection in one of the cars windows and a second extra of The Red Gallery - colour blind or what - anyone can see that it's yellow!

We walked a long way and took a lot of photos.  I was pleased with my results as I took a smaller camera that I don't use very much - a Panasonic G5 compact system camera. It is much smaller than my Nikon and also has the advantage of being silent when shooting.  For street photography it's far less intrusive than a big lens.  Horses for courses as they say!  I was quickly able to establish full control using aperture priority and adjusting the exposure compensation quickly. I will now use this camera more often.

I was back in Aylesbury early enough to pick up my kindle from Specsavers - I had left it there yesterday during my eye test.  Last night, when I realised I had not got it with me, I was wondering what on earth I would read on the train today  - 'a book' piped up John!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.