Wheat

"Sowin' things an' growin' things, an' watchin' of 'em grow;
That's the game," my father said, an' father ought to know.
"Settin' things an' gettin' things to grow for folks to eat:
That's the life," my father said, "that's very hard to beat."
For my father was a farmer, as his father was before,
Just sowin' things an' growin' things in far-off days of yore,
In the far-off land of England, till my father found his feet.
In the new land, in the true land, where he took to gowin' wheat.
Wheat, Wheat, Wheat! Oh the sound of it is sweet!
I've been prasin' it an' raisin' it in rain an' wind an' heat
Since the time I leaned to toddle, till it's beatin' in my noddle,
Is the little song I'm singin' to you of Wheat, Wheat, Wheat.

By C.J. Dennis Australian Poetry Library

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.