The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Scooter

After spending the last couple of days mostly in bed, I was determined to make the most of the day. I started by renting a scooter for a month (at less than £1 per day) so I didn't have to rely on lifts from other people. It opens up the massive city to me and most importantly it gives me the chance to visit more food stalls!

For lunch I had a pizza at a place that gets extremely high ratings from locals. I wouldn't normally stray from Vietnamese food but I'm here for three months and had a craving for pizza (maybe my body wanted it after being ill). It was very good pizza with homemade mozzarella .

I then went to the cinema to see Ant Man. A lot of the funny moments were from the delivery of lines rather than the words themselves; as a result, a lot of the humour was lost in translation and I was the only person to laugh most of the time. I really enjoyed the film and it made me realise how much I miss San Francisco (where it's set).

Afterwards I decided to drive to my favourite bún thịt nướng place which I visited twice in January. Google Maps said it should only take eight minutes but it was rush hour in one of the busiest cities in the world. The traffic was insane, thousands of bikes everywhere. It ended up taking me 45 minutes. I actually quite enjoyed the experience but I won't make a habit of driving at that time of day.

I arrived, parked my bike and went to sit down but things looked slightly different and I realised I was in the wrong place; they were selling dog meat! I rushed off and went a few meters down the road to the correct spot. The food was as good as I remembered. Definitely one of my highlights of Vietnam.

Unfortunately as I left it began to rain. It got so heavy that I had to stop and take shelter at a cafe for half an hour before it calmed down enough to continue. I hadn't yet bought a rain jacket, so I had no choice. After five minutes I had to stop again and stood by the side of the road taking photos of the streets in the rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.