From Cymbeline

By Cymbeline

Peter Rushforth's Memorial Service

Held today in the Community Hall and standing room only.  For those that don't know of Peter, he was one of Australia's foremost ceramists and a much admired and loved person.  He led an outstanding life of creativity, generosity, and, was especially revered for his many acts of forgiveness following his incarceration during the war.

This was a photo that Trish had taken of Peter only a matter of weeks before he died, aged 94.  It was in the foyer and shows Peter at one of his favourite pastimes - chess.  While this isn't a great photo, I have chosen it today as the figure indistinctly reflected in the background is Keith Rowe, Blackheath's glass artist who was often seen playing chess with Peter.  Why he wasn't inside I don't know, but I do know that he would have been very effected by the passing of Peter.

Unfortunately I had to leave early for work appointments - I thought I had left enough time, but of course there were many tributes from friends and family.  I was very touched and moved by the way so many of Peter's male artist colleagues were so visibly effected during their eulogies.

A man so loved by so many.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.