iaint

By iaint

Green...

... (20 shades).

At Raith Lake, on the route of my regular run. My first outing for quite a while.

One Friday in April I woke up in Bournemouth and - for no obvious reason - could hardly walk. I was there for a conference, but planned on spending some time exploring this new place and on running along the beach before breakfast.

I hobbled about instead. Tendonitis in my Achilles tendon. Last time I had tendonitis I was 19, and it might have been growing pains.

Since Bournemouth I've cycled a bit and run occasionally. Got up Ben Lawers as well. Meanwhile however, the kilos have accumulated.

It's a shame, and very frustrating. Only 5 months ago I was very fit indeed, having just climbed Mt Kilimanjaro after many months of hard training.

Marangu Gate

Since then it has been one health niggle after another - a normal reaction to the rigours of the climb, according to those who know.

Now I feel like a couch potato. Not the real me. Let's hope my tendon feels normal tomorrow, so I can cycle for a couple of hours. Fingers crossed.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.