Alan’s World

By AlanCurran

RAF Westland Sea King HAR3

Today's Blip has a bit of a story behind it...

After a long day, we nipped into our local Tesco store getting some bits n' bobs, when we heard what sounded like a low flying helicopter going over. Luckily, we were at the checkouts and we had a clear view of this RAF Sea King flying over head. I wondered what it was up to. It's not something you see every day up here.

About 10 minutes later, we were driving home and an Ambulance raced passed us, heading towards the city. As we approached the Musselburgh Racecourse, we saw this parked up on the golf course, just to the side of the road. I had to get out and take a picture! Someone told me they had just transferred a patient from the helicopter to an ambulance. Hopefully the guy's ok. I found the news story for it:

"A diver has been airlifted to Edinburgh Royal Infirmary after getting into difficulties near Eyemouth.

Forth Coastguard said the 59-year-old man was with a group of four with a diving club from Barnsley in Yorkshire.

An RNLI lifeboat and rescue helicopter from RAF Boulmer were sent out at around 1.40pm on Saturday.

A 39-year-old man was also treated at the scene after being washed on to rocks, the coastguard said.
"

So, a bit of photo luck with this one, with regards to photo opportunities, obviously not for the person involved. I've just read on the BBC news that his condition is critical. I hope he pulls through and it's not as serious as it appears.

Back to the photo, if only I had been a few minutes earlier, I would have got it landing. I waited around for a bit to see if it would take off again, however when I saw the racecourse staff bringing the flight crew a pot of tea, I decided they may be there for a while...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.