Proud Weegie

By Shiv

Jacqueline Wilson

A trip to the book festival today with Mr S and No 3. After buying the new (signed copy) of Jacqueline Wilson's book, she was disappointed to find that she had missed out on tickets to meet the author.

We decided to hang around outside at the end of the show, to catch a glimpse of the lady herself as she left the tent when we were approached by two ladies who wished to interview No 3 for the Jacqueline Wilson magazine. They worked for D C Thomson and even share desks with the Beano writers....wee weegie's two favourite comics!!!

At the end of the interview they told her where to stand to give her the best chance of seeing her favourite author. The lady herself came, said hello, and when I mentioned we couldn't get tickets for her show, she saw my camera and suggested I took a photo!

No 3 was overwhelmed. and burst into tears after. A man standing by, chatted to me about authors, turns out that he had dinner twice with Diana Gabledon of Cross stitch (Outlander on TV) fame. See what happens when you come to Edinburgh!!!

Still wrestling with my laptop and the weegie internet.

Last week I heard the news that a former work colleague had died from cancer, leaving a young family. The funeral is this Friday. Tonight I heard that the mum of one of No 3's dancing friends has also suddenly passed away. Terrible news for her family. Makes me cherish days like today even more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.