A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Mono Monday :: Bigger :: mm81

This is Alfie, he is my Morris Minor pick-up that was once a Post Office van. At some stage in his life he was converted from a van into a flat-bed pick-up. 

He has had many colours during his life too. GPO yellow, dark blue, red then blue & grey.  I haven't decided what his new colours will be next. He even has his own website!

So why has he been picked for my Mono Monday "Bigger"?

A long while ago I started a major renovation project on him. Morris Minor vans have much smaller doors than the saloons or Travellers, by up to 5". Part of my restoration was to extend the cab and add saloon doors. This would make Alfie far easier to get in and out.

To do this I need to extend the roof, sills and floor by 5". I have already extended the roof and most of the work on the offside sill (it's on the floor waiting to be welded in). 

Work has stalled over the past year due to a number of reasons. Today I got stuck in again. I have just welded the hinge cover plate onto the the A Post which means the door can be safely replaced. This will allow the sill to be correctly positioned. Then the cab back will be attached to the floor and sills.

All this is major surgery and not for the faint hearted. I have done a classic vehicle restoration course and have a terrific network of help from a internet forum I belong to: MorrisMinorOwners.co.uk. It might take a year or two longer before he is back on the road but if I work hard it might be sooner. Fingers crossed.

So this week's Mono Monday is Alfie, he's getting Bigger!  :o))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.