Estate Agents

Over the years since I first came to Twyford there have been many changes. One of the biggest changes was the arrival of Waitrose, and the impact that had on the small traders in the town.

The building in the photograph I think may have been an estate agent since I have known Twyford, but there are now many more estate agents than there were back then. Estate agents seem to have moved in to many of the vacated shop premises.

The architecture of this building is typical of many of the older buildings in the central part of the village.

Apart from a brief visit to Waitress for a coffee in the morning I have stayed in the flat all day waiting for a plumber, or news thereof.

The plumber finally arrived at just before 5 pm, and eventually found the leak in a water pipe going to the bath in the flat upstairs. There was much hammering and drilling. He had to remove tiles in the bathroom and upstairs, and I think they will need new taps also.

An advantage of a ground floor flat I suppose is that any water leaks just seep into the ground, and not into a neighbours flat. As the concrete ceiling above my bathroom is soaked the plumber said it will take a day or so for all the water to come through.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.