Dronefly or Hoverfly...

...is the name of this little creature.

I have many of these in my back garden. Today I was working at the garden table this morning, and this particular hoverfly stayed with me a couple of hours until I had finished my work.

I am going to call this one a he. I have no idea if he is male or female. Anyway while I was doing my work he was landing on the table, grooming himself in front of me, facing me directly most of the time he was on the table. Then he would take flight again hovering right in front of my eyes. So I turn my head to the left, but he moves in sync with me and is still hovering in front of my eyes. I turn my head to the right and he moves in sync with me again, still hovering right in front of my eyes. By the way I do have dark tinted glasses on.

I walked around the garden for a break and he still followed me flying round to the front of my face in front of my eyes and hovering in one position, which naturally causes me to stop dead in my tracks. I step to the left, but again he moves in sync with me and is still hovering directly in front of my face. I step to the right but he still moves perfectly in sync with me hovering directly in front of my face. I take one step towards him and he moves literally one step back still hovering directly in front of my face.

This is a regular occurrence which has been happening for the last 10 years or so since I have lived here in this bungalow. I cannot walk around my garden without a hoverfly accompanying me in this way.

Anyway at this point I took him by surprise and I ducked under him. But as soon as I started walking again....

What is it a hoverfly sees in my face? Is my face is simply a massive fly's face to him?

I got back to my table and resumed my work and photographed him. He lands on my work and looks at me, then lands on my arm looking at me. But when I went indoors he did not follow me. The hoverflies never come into my bungalow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.