rockit

By rockit

Mission Accomplished

I have hundreds of photographs of the bridge but I recently spotted a photograph, posted somewhere online, that I couldn't quite work out the position from where it was taken. Cue some Google/Apple map research and the discovery of a cycle path that leads from Queensferry to Dalmeny with possible views of the bridge. I set out on the Tricross for a leisurely cycle over the Forth to explore the path and, after a fuel stop at the local Scotmid (a pork pie as I wanted something salty, and very good it was too) I found the start of the path in the corner of the car park. I cycled for a few hundred metres looking at the bridge through dense foliage before eventually finding a clearing in the trees that offered the possibility of a clear view of the bridge...if I was prepared to scramble off the path and down a steep slope. As there were no trees handy for a bike rest I decided to lay the bike down on the top of the slope while I slid down a few metres to find a good viewpoint for a shot or three. After appreciating the newly found view and taking a few shots I turned to make my way back up through the undergrowth to the path. As I neared the path, a distance away from the point that I started, I saw a couple stopped by my bike (which was lying abandoned with discarded bike helmet at the top of a steep slope) with concerned expressions and mobile phones poised to dial for help. They had noticed the bike and helmet and, seeing no sign of me, had thought that I might have 'come a cropper' and taken a dive down the steep slope and be in need of help. I managed to make it back up to the path before any distress call was made but it's nice to know that people do care!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.