An Unexpected Job

Last night I went to bed with no back problems, I moved awkwardly in bed and the nerve trapped, my leg hurt like the Devil and after putting up with it for an hour or so, I went downstairs to get some pain killers.  As I walked towards the kitchen door I realised something was wrong, water was trickling out below the door into the dining room, where it was draining through the wooden floor.  I got my pain killers and took them, woke Mrs GOG and told here what was happening, before establishing that the water leak was coming from the location of our hot water cylinder.  I shut off the supply to the cylinder and went back to bed. 
 
This morning I awoke early, got up and started clearing things to access the cylinder.  Once it was visible it was apparent that the water was coming out through the immersion heater, which had ruptured.  I knew I had a spare immersion heater assembly and spent two hours finding it!!!!!  Once I had found it, it was just a matter of draining the cylinder down and replacing the heater, before drying up thoroughly and returning all the stripped out materials, furniture and goods.  The whole job took up most of the day, so it was not until the evening that I was able to sit down and rest.  The amazing thing was that the back which had been so troublesome last night did not play up once!  This was to some extent because Mrs GOG dealt with all the low level items, which involved working on hands and knees to avoid me having to bend, nevertheless, some of my work was fairly heavy, so that the back was under some stress.  Anyway at the end of the day I at least felt that it was a reasonable job done, which should last for quite a while.  The kitchen is at present awaiting stripping out before it is refurbished and redecorated, but this cylinder is one of the very few items that will remain located as it is.  Today’s blip is of the hot water cylinder, with all of the working surface and woodwork around it stripped out to provide access. 
 

 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.