East Coasting

By OzBeachcomber

Prickly Peat

Took a drive to Glen Lyon Lake today, just over the Queensland border with a view to sussing a future camping site. No go though but did see some large Prickly Pear plants. I've seen a lot of Prickly Pear in my time but I have never seen them in fruit and some of these at Glen Lyon Lake were just covered in fruit. I opened one of the fruit and it was red like a plum inside with some white-ish things that I assume would have been the seeds.They didn't appear to be prickly like the plants but I did end up with a tiny little spike in my finger. Very interesting drive through some very dry country but surrounded by lots of beautiful mountains, part of the Great Dividing Range. Loving this caravanning holiday so far.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.