Only trust a road map

I’ve had a full on play day today even if it was a tough one!  Rich is on holiday having day trips and given he was having a day off from his outings, I was able to have a longer bike ride.

I fancied a ride out to Pateley Bridge which, quite early on in my return to cycling, I found pretty tough.  When I realised it wasn’t a huge route and I could spend a little longer out, I used mapometer (which spell check insists on changing to manometer!) to create a route to Kirkby Malzeard.  Not completely trusting it as it has used tracks before, I double checked on Google that I could get through to Ramsgill.  Sorted.

It was a gorgeous morning but the house martins were lining up on the wires like they’d had enough.  We’re definitely having a yo-yo of a summer.  It was thoroughly enjoyable, particularly the moment a stoat sat up in the long-grass verge to say hello as I went by.  

The road I’ve blipped was awesome. Right into Kirkby Malzeard, it was absolutely stunning with flowering heather and a magnificent descent once this little incline was out of the way.

Still not entirely trusting the route which now said unsuitable for motor vehicles, I double checked with a chap on a road bike that I could get through to the reservoir at Ramsgill - yes I could.  So off I went.  Another amazing road and I continued to climb.  

In the distance, I could see a couple of cars parked and what looked disconcertingly like a track heading off to the left.  Surely, the road would continue to the right. 

Erm, no.

When I arrived at the people in the car, they looked at me as if to say if she goes along there, we’ll see her again in a few minutes.  So, in the back of my mind, I thought, no you won’t!

The track began but it wasn’t horrendous so I just cycled slowly and steadily to the top of the hill to see what happened.  I could see it continuing but it looked very similar so, still with the smug faces of the people in the car in the back of my mind, I carried on.  I had one foot out of my clippy pedals just in case I wobbled and had a foot down a few times to avoid some bigger rocks.  This went on for about two miles and it wasn’t fast going but finally, I could see the reservoir and believed I would make it without having to retrace my wheels.  The last part was quite steep and rubbly so I put my pretend cyclo-cross head on, got off, laughed and carried on down (without the need to carry my bike, luckily!)

Tarmac has never looked so good!

Lunch in Pateley Bridge and I was feeling quite lively still so decided to continue my route up Greenhow Hill.  The lady in the cafe made me laugh.  After asking where I was heading, she chuckled saying she couldn’t get her car up there. I was hopefully joking, telling her I might see her in twenty minutes!

Slow and steady, my usual style, got me up a very long hill but then I knew it was generally downhill to Barden, Bolton Abbey and home.  It had started to spit with rain as I started up the hill and by the time I was back at Addingham, it was quite heavy but still warm enough not to need a jacket.  Not being able to face the final uphill through our village, I felt good enough to head over the Cow & Calf to enjoy the downhill home.  I did try to stand up but that didn’t last very long!

A rare bath beckoned after realising the tops of my legs hurt going up the stairs so I stayed there for some time with my book and a huge mug of fresh lemon & ginger tea.  Dinner has thankfully been cooked for me and I think I’m ready for a serious sleep!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.