Times Of My Life

By CarolB

Twenty 20

August 19th 1995 - my first date with a rather handsome bloke I'd first met a couple of weeks before in the pub where I worked part time as a barmaid. I don't suppose either of us really expected this to be 'It''. 

August 19th 2015 - with perfect timing, Bryan Burnett (Radio Scotland - Get It On with Bryan Burnett) read out my request for a mention for our 20-year First Date Anniversary at the exact moment I called G through to the kitchen to light the sparklers on a delicious chocolate cake we were having instead of pudding tonight. 

In the intervening years we have changed jobs (several times); moved house; become in-laws then grandparents; lost dear friends; gained dogs; put on weight; stopped smoking; broken bones (him); fought (lots!); laughed (even more); had fantastic holidays; painted rooms, fences, and towns; and generally had a bit of a ball. 

Wonderful!  Here's to our 40-year First Date Anniversary, and another 20 years of merriness and mayhem. 

Maybe somewhere along the way I'll manage to persuade him to make an honest woman out of me!

Extra photos are The Way We Were, and The Way We Celebrate!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.