Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Backdrop is painted!

I recovered from an illness we picked up last week and painted my backdrop.  I cannot complain because we seldom get sick, but last weekend both my wife and I had the crud and had to cancel a dinner with friends on Sunday. Yuck.  But I am back pretty much so I tackled my least favorite activity - painting walls.  Wish my sister-in-law was here to paint as she loves it.

I decided to just go ahead and paint the sky on the room walls directly, and use the foamcore boards to hold some panoramic photos of the mountains directly in front of the sky. They will be cut down to about 6 to 10 inches tall - about right for N scale - so plenty of sky.  That is the next step on the backdrops.  I did have one small error - that is why there is daylight under the right end on one of the window pieces I made.  A little too quick with the painter's tape.  But the bottom joint will be covered by scenery so no problem.

A little overwhelming with all the blue - looks like a Smurf village.  Once I get the landforms made, I will quickly paint the ground my earth color.

Next step will be to airbrush the storage tracks (under the storage cabinet) and ballast them. Then I can have some trains to run and to park them safely off-stage while I work on the larger layout.  Just a promise I made to myself - get that staging DONE.  So on with that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.