My Open Book

By AmyLin

Digging Holes

I volunteered for Obama this morning!
Well, technically. I drove down to Pontiac this morning at 10 to do this volunteer gig that my friend Alice offered to me. It was kind of intimidating to go somewhere new (and kind of sketchy) by myself but it was a good...experience.
Thank goodness Alice was there or else I would have no idea what I was doing - we basically were handed these clipboards with forms attached and told to go to various locations and encourage people to register to vote, shame on me for expecting it to be a breeze, the odds were against us. We went out on a Saturday morning at 10 am., no one is out doing anything at 10 am. First tried Great Lakes for about an hour and a half with no luck, and then decided to head down to Troy for anyone interested. That was probably not so great of an idea. Troy is a relatively wealthy city, the majority of the people there actually were already registered and thus - after about two and a half hours of chasing down people and facing rejection after rejection, Alice and I only managed to get 5 out of 42 sheets filled.
Yeah...it was a disappointment, but I enjoyed hanging out with Alice - the title is from the song we listened to in her car. It's still stuck in my head haha.
Such a busy day, and it's almost 1, so much for trying to keep a solid sleep schedule in the summer. Got a haircut too! Church was kind eh today but I cried. Same with fellowship, I realize the more people come in, the more cliques we form. I'm not too enthusiastic about that but God's got a plan for growth in our youth, I've got to put all my faith in him.
Going to bed - I'm going to deal with all my struggles in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.