A Tale of Two Photos

Ok, so this picture is only good if you look at the extra photo.

This morning, I hustled outside as I knew all the smoke in the air would create a photogenic sunrise. I humped it up the hill, and made it just as the sun came up blood red over a blue oak and purple hills. A good sunrise. 

After five minutes or so, I turned and headed down the hill. On a photography day any number of years before, Kirby would have accompanied me, running many yards ahead. This morning, he wandered stiffly about the back yard, but knew better than to tackle the hill. I hadn't even noticed that he followed me a little way. From 150 yards, I saw him, 20 yards or so into the field, lying and waiting for me, watching me the whole time, front forelegs crossed in his style. I stopped and watched him, like I'd watched the sunrise.

The sun and a dog, faithful companions. The sun, because it knows no other way. The dog, because he knows no other way. He'd rather be right by my side, but if he can't make it all the way...he'll wait down here until I return. Somehow, I like his faithfulness over the sun. 

Be sure to check out the extra picture. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.