Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

National Museum of Scotland

Took the boy to the Victorian Photography exhibition at the National Museum of Scotland today.  You are of course, not allowed to take photographs in there - except at selected "selfie stations" where the boy refused to be photographed.  It's that time in a teenager's life...

Do go and see the exhibition.  Most inspirational and showing how successive waves of technology virtually wiped out the previous incarnations of photography.

I chose this vase as my object of the day as I'd been drawn to look at the swirls decorating the base.  I've been collecting lots of "Zentangle" patterns on a Pinterest board for crafting, and this reminded me of some of them.  The vase is by Seifu Yohei, dating to around 1890 - a cylindrical vase with blue dragon roundels (said the explantatory notes).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.