SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Derelict no more

Another derelict feature of the Penicuik Estate has now been restored. The scaffolding that had been on the "Roman Bridge" for a year is now off, and I walked over it to find a good place to take a photo. I also indulged in some lovely raspberries.

The bridge is a folly: it crosses the N Esk from a track to the bottom of a steep overgrown wooded slope with no path to speak of. In this wonderful planned landscape there has to be some reason for the bridge being here and, indeed, it's seen to advantage from the path leading down from the old house to the river, although it will look better in the winter when the undergrowth has died back and the trees are not in leaf.

I've just found the Estate's restoration plans and, as I'd hoped, now the bridge is finished, the next feature to be restored will be Knight's Law Tower. I can't wait!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.