focusman

By welshcameraman

Leaf Cutter Bee

It has been a strange day here. Earlier in the day, the weather was quite bright and muggy so I sat in the garden looking for a blip. After sitting there for about ten minutes, what appeared to be a green leaf floated by and it landed on an old garden bench for a while. Upon closer inspection, it turned out to be a leaf cutter bee working hard cutting pieces of rose leaves to seal its eggs in a tunnel which it had dug in a large garden pot ( see my second photo).I watched for quite a while and it repeated the process many times Every time it passed me, it stopped to rest in exactly the same spot on the bench. I then followed it back to where it was cutting the leaves from and I have to say that some of the leaves on my Rambling Rector rose looked like a lace curtain. Never mind, its a small price to pay to keep our bees happy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.