pictaker

By pictaker

In Flanders Fields...

This might seem a bit of an odd subject for a blip at this time of year (although there is never a time not to remember) but our local Heritage Centre is having my wall hanging as part of their War Heroes display so I am doing a bit of remedial work sewing the corner poppies on.I made it last year to commemorate the start of the Great War. It has on it the poem I wrote and photographs of our war memorial and the sea of poppies at the Tower of London I photographed last year as well as images of soldiers. The red band has the major battles of the war written on it and the dates 1914-2014. It hung by the Remembrance Table in our church during November last year. My extra photo is of the poem, which I hope will make people think about the reality of war rather than the glory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.