tepeka

By tepeka

Memorialised

There was a big gathering in the square near work when I showed up this morning (a bit late, as we went to the boy child's school so that he could pick up his French GCSE result). I couldn't tell what was going on and as I was already two hours late, I didn't stroll over to see.

And then this evening, this new statue appeared in the square. I suspect the two events may be related.

It's a monument to a boxer called John 'Rinty' Monaghan, who apparently retired undefeated as World, European, British and Empire Flyweight Champion. I have to admit that I've never heard of him, though I suspect my dad would have - he was a big boxing fan. Though possibly an 'Empire' champion would have been even before his time...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.