Food, Travel and Whimsey

By Fetch

More vegan gluten free bread

My latest attempt at vegan gluten free bread.
I think I've just about got it worked out this time.
The crumb structure was tighter and the texture was softer and the flavour was better.
So it didn't taste like eating a bath sponge. I was not getting good results using purely corn flour and adding 50% millet flour resulted in loaves that were heavy and claggy.
I'm not good with recipes but this more or less what I used the quantities are not exact:

400g Doves Farm Gluten Free White Bread Flour
50g Millet Flour
50g Psyllium husk
50g Pure Soya spread
1 tsp Salt
2 tsp sugar
100ml Soya yoghurt

This time around I didn't use sachets of instant yeast. Instead I used dried active yeast in a bit more than a pint of water.
I mixed the dry ingredients together then gradually added the yeast solution yoghurt and soya spread and let it prove overnight.
Then baked it for 30-40 minutes at about 170°C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.