My Tao Box of Inspiration

Dear Diary,

I became fascinated by Taoist philosophy back in 2002 when I traveled to China and spent a wonderful afternoon in a Taoist monastery high up in the mountains outside Xian.  Years ago a friend gave me this box of Tao cards to draw inspiration from.  The words on each card are taken from the Tao Te Ching written by the Chinese mystic Lao-tzu.  Today, the card I drew - Opinions and Prejudices -  read, in part:

"Neither Heaven nor Earth have opinions: for everything is natural.  The wise one knows no prejudice; each person is sacred."

I also use the wisdom of the Tao to guide my photography.  When I wrote my blog on contemplative photography I used these Tao cards as photographic inspiration, using their titles and adapting them with exercises.  The one for this card is:

If you dislike blurry, out of focus images, try 
making some.  If dark, under exposed pictures
make you crazy, explore the possibilities.  
You can learn much by experimenting with
things you think you dislike.

Inspiration comes from many places and this is one place I find mine.

If you wish to see the other 49 exercise that correspond to the Tao cards, you can go here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.