LightWave

By LightWave

Bluebird

Yesterday we went to a place called The Wild Bird Store to buy a bird house (or a nesting box as we call them in England). I like woodpeckers and we have lots of trees, so I asked for a woodpecker house, but the man just laughed and said woodpeckers don't live in houses :( But he suggested a bluebird house instead, so that's what we bought.

We (that is to say both of us except me) screwed it to our big pine tree yesterday evening.

Imagine my surprise when I looked out of the window at our new bluebird house this morning and saw a bluebird sitting on it! How does it know?

As it happens today is the day that my rental lens (300mm prime plus 2x teleconverter) arrived so I had a nice time experimenting with the equipment (poking it out of the kitchen window which acted as a nice support) while the bluebird explored the bluebird house. Meanwhile, we are designing a baffle to keep the bears and raccoons off. The FedEx driver, who delivered my lens, saw two bears on the way our house. Anyone would think that we live in the wilderness instead of on the edge of town in plain old Wisconsin farm country.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.