The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Event organiser

My appetite was back and I felt normal again. To celebrate I had a big burger at a restaurant run by a Vietnamese lady who had lived in Texas for a while. I had a craving for a burger rather than street food and it hit the spot!

Two weeks ago I'd gone to the monthly Couchsurfing meet-up and afterwards I'd spoken to Ruth, the organiser, about possibly making it twice a month as it had become so popular. Ruth was away for over a month so I was taking over responsibility for hosting it while she was gone. I created the event late (about three days before) and people weren't expecting an event until September so I knew it wouldn't be busy. We ended up having 12 or so people, which was perfect for having a group discussion and sometimes two separate conversations.

It was mainly locals and they were all lovely, as I'd come to expect. We talked about all kinds of subject. A few of us exchanged contact details. We didn't leave until 11.30pm, much later than the previous event. I can't wait for the next one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.