Lochinch Castle

Today we've visited Logan Botanic Garden which is without doubt Scotland's most 'exotic' garden - our answer to Tresco, I suppose. Wonderful, as always, with all those palms and tree ferns and very much more besides.

After a picnic lunch we continued to Castle Kennedy, home of the Earl and Countess of Stair and quite different from Logan. There is a lovely walled garden full of perennials, but it's the wonderful  trees and shrubs surrounding the two lochs which are the chief attraction. Lochinch Castle, the family's current home, was built in 1867 to replace the original Castle Kennedy which was destroyed by fire in 1716  and which is now a picturesque ruin covered with the biggest wisteria around!

The day finished with a pub meal in Stranraer followed by our usual session of chat in an overheated student lounge with a coffee machine!

Not as good an image as I would like, but I'm using my daughter's laptop - I'm backblipping on Friday from her flat in Bunessan, on the Isle of Mull - and I have no means of editing pictures.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.