Particles & Waves

By EdwardFenner

Historic Sword of John Graves Simcoe

My friend Beth accompanied me to the Archives of Ontario today to look at some artifacts of first Lieutenant Governor of Upper Canada (now Ontario) John Graves Simcoe (1752-1806). It would be an understatement to say she was delighted to handle Simcoe's dress sword. It is brought out of storage periodically to help swear in each Lieutenant Governor in this province. We also looked at Simcoe's regular sabre, his gold-topped walking stick, and his wife's wedding ring. As a rabologist (scholar and/or collector of walking sticks), I was particularly interested in Simcoe's walking stick.

You can see more photos in the extra photos section.

I will be going back tomorrow with a better camera for some better, clearer shots. Part of my interest in this is to try and determine where, when, and possibly who made the stick. Nobody knows…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.