only as old as you feel...

...or
you're only as (mentally) old as you act and think (obviously your chronological age you have to put up with)
or
think codger > act codger > be codger
substituting "codger" with "fogey" according to regional preference.

Obviously you can't go around jumping into puddles all the time (you'd constantly have wet feet and would develop a chill, especially just wearing trainers rather than proper shoes etc.) but it's important to not feel constrained to act your physical age. It's pretty damn hard for a start to know how you're supposed to act. Copy someone? How did they find out? Maybe there's a manual somewhere.

A lovely bright sunny morning. Perfect for making smashed roadside glass look pretty rather than depressing and ideal for jumping into puddles as the illumination level permits the high shutter speed required. I did end up with soaking wet feet and later soaking wet shorts but the freezing wind soon dried them out. That's the advantage of wearing shorts; whereas trousers would end up with a big damp muddy patch on the knees if I was wearing them when I knelt down on the frozen damp grass by Dunsapie Loch to take a picture of an amphibian which is probably a toad my bare knees quickly dried out and can be quickly rubbed presentably clean.

Another day off tomorrow. Probably some lens-testing will be involved somewhere. As people who have seen my pictures and probably have a better idea what sort of glass I might benefit from than I would you recommend I get the Nikkor 60mm f/2.8 macro, the Nikkor 70-210mm f/4-5.6 or the Sigma 105mm f/2.8 macro (which adds a little length to my lens repertoire as well as macro capability)? Of course, that's only the secondhand selection from one shop. There's the other problem that my current bag probably can't take another lens but is a very good size especally as there don't seem to be any bags ideal for holding a camera, lenses, two flasks, bottle of water, spare layer or coat and lunch which is what I would need to make the trip to and from work without having a smallish camera bag, rucksack and tripod bag around my shoulders. Then again a single bag would be somewhat inflexible.

Buy stuff first, worry about carrying stuff later.

Anyway, has everyone had a nice weekend?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.