kwchas

By kwchas

Prime Meridian

Today I had a day out with my geocaching mate Paul. Our aim was to find some specific caches (I won't bore you with details) but suffice to say we ended up visiting Leeds and Hull as well as several places in-between and beyond.

One of our stops was just outside Patrington on Spurn Head. 

I imagine that most people are aware of the Prime Meridian, which is the point where east meets west, and was established by Sir George Airy at the Greenwich Observatory in 1851. Many people go to the observatory to stand either side of the Meridian line although I  imagine that the vast majority are unaware that 0 degrees longitude actually lies a short distance to the east in the park.

The prime meridian passes up the country and leaves mainland Britain to the East of Hull, by Patrington, and a plaque and sign have been erected here to mark the location. Unfortunately the plaque is virtually impossible to read from my picture although in my defence it wasn't much easier to read standing next to it as the letters are in gold on the stone background. There isn't much information on it anyway it just says Greenwich Meridian with a map and the year it was erected.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.