Among My Souvenirs

Another find in my Mother's haberdashery stash. Why would she have kept a book of matches in her sewing box?
The answer is in the extra photo 1 - these are not matches but a kit to stop a ladder in stockings from running (basically by adding a dab of glue to the end) or perhaps sewing up a hole in the toe.. Extra photo 2 shows the instructions on the back.
Before cheap nylon and run-resist hosiery a laddered stocking could be professionally repaired, much as a dropped stitch in knitting and I remember being with my Mother and watching the process with interest. I never saw her use this kit but it could have been used if a stocking laddered on a night out or special occasion. Perhaps that is why they were supplied by a petrol company.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.