Callaghand

This is the hand of David Callaghan, the stand up comedian and now playwright. 

I met David about three years ago at the Edinburgh Festival and I always make an effort to go and see him perform there plus I hugely enjoyed his play, which the Minx and I went to see in Glasgow last year. 

The play - 'The London 2012 Games Closing Ceremony Closing Ceremony' - is on at the Fringe for the whole of this month, at Venue 145 at 14:30 each day. Apparently it's changed a bit since we saw it in Glasgow but it was good then so I'm assuming it's even better now. Also, if you do go along: I managed to score with a marshmallow. (You'll see what I mean.)

David's stand up show is on at The Free Sisters at 11:15 and whilst I thought it was darker than his previous shows, it was the better for it. After the show the Minx and I went for a couple of drinks with David, and then went to see his friend Richard Brown's show, which was also very good, and then we dragged Richard out for a drink, too.

We were, it's safe to say, tipsy by the time we headed for our last show of the day, also recommended by David. (I must say, it's brilliant having someone to curate the Fringe for you, especially when you're only there for the day.) Paul Currie was great - funny, confident and charismatic - and his show was lively, anarchic and ended in a bread fight, which was a great way to finish the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.