Brut

A morning of work.
An afternoon of shopping in town for birthday presents.
And an evening out and about.

I/we always see Alun Cochrane, and he's always extremely good. Traditional stand-up at The Stand, can't beat it. Bite to eat at The Cambridge and then on to the book festival for Unbound in The Spiegeltent. My favourite poet Luke Wright was hosting the night and he was on dazzling form as usual. Jemima Foxtrot was intriguing with her hybrid spoken/singing poetry style and the Ringo Music Bingo was highly entertaining. Which just left the pair from 'lo-fi indie punk band' Art Brut to finish the night with a 40 minute set that veered and wandered and digressed all over the place, as did lead singer Eddie Argos quite literally. Some quite brilliant and monumentally-stretched versions of some of their best-known complete-non-hits that I'm not even going to try and do justice to by describing in any detail. I'm not saying it was my absolute highlight of the festival so far but my smile was easily as wide as The Spiegeltent itself and I may have actually cried with laughter on at least a couple of occasions. Ridiculously fabulous.

Art Brut(alism)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.