misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Dogwood berries

These are on the 'native' dogwood-- how fuzzy and wobbly the photo looks on here!! We could pretend I did it on purpose for 'effect'.
 bush. The first time there have been enough berries in the 4 years it has grown in the front under toomuch shade of a maple tree. The flowers are fluffy and not especially noticeable. Birds are supposed to love the berries. We shall see. I am glad I got here first.
The 'native' here means native to Eastern U.S. or certainly to New York state.
About a month ago or so I blipped a bunch of white, bird dropping kind of worm casings. I collected all of them since they were gobbling the leaves and I did not know what they would become.
They became black and yellow striped caterpillar/worms. I kept feeding more dogwood leaves into the large jar. But they did not grow into anything else... so the bird got the lot out on the tray.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.