Bog Brook Cove Preserve, Cutler Maine

Cutler is a town near Machiasport with one of the loveliest working harbors in the area as well as miles of wooded areas. The weather was kind enough to allow us a short hike out to the cove I have blipped, gorgeous even in fog. If it had been clear we would have been able to see one of the Canadian Atlantic Islands, Grand Manan. It's also very visible from West Quoddy Head Light in Lubec.( I have ancestors who hailed from there).  T and I have been to the island twice, so we know what a lovely sight it would have been to see the 'Blue Biscuit' in the distance, but it was not to be. The fog was thick but the secluded cove was divine even under the increasing shroud.

I had a day actually of sensory overload, sights, sounds of the ocean and the taste of my favorite food from the sea. It was tough to select a blip, so I shall use up most of my remaining extra images with my other choices. 

This weather is perfect for highlighting webs and as I looked out the kitchen window this morning, I saw one 'hung out to dry' on Katie's clothesline next door. I walked through the hallway and saw another one through the front window by the door, ' hung on Glory'. You will find both in the extras.

This was also the day of the Machiasport Historical Society Annual Lobster Lunch. Netted bags of fresh live lobsters steamed in a huge pot over an open fire by the river. A tent with small tables set up and a chance to chat with tablemates, from away or perhaps locals, always fun. It was delicious as usual, fish chowder, lobster, corn, rolls, coleslaw  and blueberry cake topped with whipped cream for dessert. My plate is the third extra photograph.

Tomorrow is our last day, we'll do something fun before the cleaning, packing and buttoning up, a soft closing of the house. My brother and sister-in-law will come up once more to do the hard close, draining the pipes and winterizing until he opens everything up again in late spring. This house loves people, my grandfather and his 4 siblings were lively and I think the house craves fun. We've had so much fun these last 3 plus weeks. Raspberry adores it here too. 

For the record,
This day came in foggy and humid with a break in the afternoon and a bit of blue sky.

All hands healthy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.