Spring Cleaning

Over the last few weeks I have noticed a large number of 'spots' on images from my 6D - the result of a dirty sensor. They stubbornly refused to shift despite repeated use of the camera self cleaning cycle.

So there was only one thing for it - the dreaded sensor clean using a swab. Now I have never tried this myself before so choosing a product was a bit of minefield - but I settled on one which seemed to get good reviews.

Well they arrived today and so I took the plunge. There was that little moment of doubt as the wet swab hit the sensor for the first time...then turning it over and swiping it back again...

A check revealed an improvement, so a second cycle was done and hey presto a relatively clean sensor, not perfect as there seems to be one particularly stubborn mark but it is right in a corner and so I am not too bothered.

Now that I have done it it doesn't seem so difficult and I have a couple of spares left should I need them again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.