Another Conopid fly

Oh my goodness what a tragic day! 
Mr U&L was going to take Ethan to the Shoreham air display today, the plan was I would drop them off at Shoreham then travel down the A27 towards Chichester and cut upwards to go to Iping common. In the end we decided to wait till tomorrow and go together so I could see the Eurofighter, which wasn't due to display today! 
So Mr U&L and Ethan stayed home and I went off to Iping common...which is where Mr U&L rang me to tell me about the air crash, to be honest, I was really shocked as I could well have been on that road at that time had we continued with our original plans........It makes you realise life is very fragile.....Live each day to the full, and keep short accounts with God. 
My thoughts and prayers are with all the families affected by this tragedy .
It was very hot at Iping, and I only managed a few shots before I decided to head home.
This interesting little fly is a Conopid  (same family as Sicus furrugineus blipped on August 1st), and most probably Physocephala rufipes , a fairly frequent Bumble bee parasite. The adults can be found from May to August in flower rich areas feeding on nectar.
Despite it's nasty habits, I do think it is quite interesting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.