Manziet

By Manziet

Sunday's for Church

Today being a day where I usually end up in places I shouldn't offered no surprises in that manner. Driving along a fairly quiet Highland road I spotted a building hiding amongst the trees in a forest. Being a nosey git I stopped for a look. It was an old church. The pathway to it was overgrown and the building itself was falling apart. Making my way inside as you do (where would our stock of horror films be if no-one ever did that?) my foot went through the rotten floorboards- note to self if you want to keep doing this, eat less you fat git-. Extricating myself from the wriggling mass of maggots feasting on the corpses of dead babies I ventured further in. The place had been set up as if for some ungodly ceremony with the stalls arranged in such a way to be facing the corner of the building, and we all know what goes on in corners. The hassocks were bundled in another corner lit by sunlight pouring through the unblocked window opening. I risked a flash, Then another. I couldn't believe my eyes. Amidst all the decay and rot appeared this beautiful mural left unseen in natural light since the last congregation moved on. I hope this picture I've posted does it justice and maybe someone knows the saint on the right kneeling at the feet of St Andrew. The one on the left is St Columba.  I've posted a set on my Facebook page if anyone not a friend wants to see them send me a request. I'm not fussy. :)
PS
The maggots and dead babies was only a joke my foot landed on a rat which squirmed like maggots and dead babies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.