Salvage from the Wreckage

By NickMogToo

Summery Summary

The traditional holiday summary in numbers.
Pasties eaten: 6. Poor. Partly because I was unable to find a good pasty in Penzance. Oggie-Oggies in Falmouth are still fine.
Wet days: 3. Or 4 if you count the travelling back day.
Fish and Chip meals: 0. Pathetic. Another year gone without meeting my objective of at least trying the Rick Stein posh chippy. Or even the Harbour Lights. I may need to go back.
Miles cycled: About 30. Didn't bother Stravaing the pootley rides. On the bigger hills, the single speed was entertaining. Was blown out of the water by M who did a 45 mile round trip to the Lizard. And then got a top 10 place on the Round the Castle headland section. Pretty impressive. And now he's taken my road Bike away. He did London to Brighton on it yesterday. I miss it already despite barely using it recently (once this year!) Still, he's bound to want to upgrade soon and I can have it back then!
Kilometres run: 120! Ran 10k every day apart from the changeover day. And felt good on it! 74.something miles. Still regret not putting in a few more minutes to get it up to 75 dead.
Seals seen: About 4, I think. On the Marine Discovery Penzance trip.
Episodes of Downton Abbey watched: 2. Not sure whether this will ever be increased.
Cars killed: the jury is out on the Peugeot. The overheating was caused by a leaking radiator cap which has been replaced. But there is definitely oil in the coolant and it isn't really worth the cost of repair. Mind you, we first noticed this last year so it may struggle on a bit longer. But I'm sizing up replacements.
Records bought: 13. (The 13th was a £2.99 U2 album but it didn't fit the picture and I feel no need to boast about it). The Miles Davies record was new and cheaper than Amazon. On lovely 180g vinyl. When I were a lad, records were thin, flimsy victims of the oil crisis.

Post holiday, I made my traditional, once a season, run out for the vets football team. I may be repeating it next week! I could at least run around well and everyone else's tired legs meant that my lack of footballing ability wasn't too obvious. I enjoyed it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.