Proud Parents

Today was the christening of my friend's daughters Iona and Caitlyn, it was a strengthening of the Auld Alliance, mum being French and the French side of the family were here in strength and it was lovely to see them here to share this special day in their family history.  It was nice to be asked to be there too.  I shot a lot of frames, many of you will know I rarely shoot portraits as I am not very good at it but here it is.

I love the way Jason and Nellie are looking so lovingly at Iona who was an absolute star, fun loving and full of energy keeping everyone on their toes as she streaked around the church having a ball whilst other photographs were being taken.

Circumstances here sadly meant we could not join the celebrations after the service but I know they will all have had a lovely afternoon.  A chance meeting as we left the church, an old friend walking through our village led me to the park, a beautiful afternoon to sit and watch the rugby.  My old club's under 16's were playing a pre-season friendly against the village side and i sat with my friend watching her son, my Godson AJ play.  It was like watching his dad half a lifetime ago, the same walk, the same stance.  

After the game he came over, a firm handshake pulling into a warm embrace made me so proud of the young man he has become we chatted as we walked back to the pavilion and it was like the years just fell away and I was walking off the park with his dad having played alongside him a little surreal.  Sadly his dad has recused himself from AJ's life with the exception from an occasional text, something i have to say makes me very sad for them both but maybe with everything that has transpired recently, at present it is for the best. 

Today was a day I was not looking forward to not in the mood to be around people but today was a special day and I am thankful for the fate that let it be  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.