Chapters

Dinner for a friend who's leaving on Wednesday. After too much tapas made us giddy we started remarking how good life in Phnom Penh can make you feel. Most of us feel more confident, more well-rounded and more desirable than when we arrived. Megan said it's because 'we are cooler versions of ourselves here'. It sounds hideously cheesy but what I interpret her as meaning is that living in a random location, away from most of what you have previously been surrounded by, means you're unshackled from society's expectations, and this makes you more independent and bold. As I wrap up here I want to make sure I transplant my current mindset back to the UK and not have the years in Cambodia as a separate experience packaged away on a shelf.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.