deirdrelizmitch

By deirdrelizmitch

Staoineag Bothy

On my first day at Loch Ossian I hiked out to Staoineag Bothy (about a 12 mile round trip). I used to visit it a lot as a child with my family but I hadn't been for many years so it was lovely to see the place again. The walk in is fairly easy, mostly along a track apart from the last stretch which is rather boggy. Arguable the most difficult part was crossing the stepping stones to get to the bothy, which is on the other side of the river. There had been a lot of rain just before I arrived so the river was high and the stepping stones under water. In the end I opted for a 'boots off' approach. I got very cold feet, but my boots were dry for the walk out, which is probably more important!

The bothy itself was much as I remembered. I was half tempted to ditch the comforts of the hostel and stay the night, but sadly hadn't brought a sleeping bag so decided against it. Maybe another time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.